Magic how does regeneration work




















Magic: The Gathering Wiki Explore. Card Types. Creature Creature Types. Clue Contraption Equipment Fortification. Aura Curse Shrine. Arcane Trap. How to Play Rules Mechanics Zones. White Blue Black Red Green. Regenerate replaces the next time [permanent] would be destroyed with three effects, which happen in order:. When damage is dealt to a creature, that damage is marked on the creature until the cleanup step at the end of the turn.

Join our email list. You can also join our Discord! Unfortunately, infect and wither tell another story. Here is the rule:. Just tap it. The Canyon Minotaur will be destroyed, while our Cudgel Troll survives thanks to regenerate! Our opponent casts Lightning Bolt to kill our troll before combat damage, and we regenerate the troll in response. Rise of the Dark Realms. When a spell or ability grants regeneration to a creature, it gains a regeneration shield which lasts until the end of the turn and activates when the creature is about to be destroyed.

If a creature that has a regeneration shield faces a creature with deathtouch, both creatures deal combat damage. As the damage is dealt, however, the creature with regeneration is tapped, taken out of combat, and has all damage removed from it, thus bringing it back to full health. This means that you have to grant regeneration before lethal is dealt. Relentless Dead. All of this might have you thinking that regeneration is an invincible ability that has the power to break the game, but it does have its restrictions.

So, if you thought about exploiting sacrifice mechanics the moment you saw regeneration, sorry to disappoint you. During your combat phase, your Troll attacks and gets blocked by the Rats. It becomes tapped, back at full health. Your opponent really wants to remove your Troll, so they then cast Shock targeting your Troll.

Although the regeneration shield is no longer present on your creature, it can be regenerated a second time if you have a spell and the mana. And, lucky you, in this scenario you do!

At this point, you realize that regenerate is a bit of an annoying mechanic since you can pretty much keep your creatures alive indefinitely provided the proper spells and mana, unless your opponent drops a regeneration-preventing nuke like Death Pits of Rath. It gets even more complicated under the old rules with damage going on the stack.

Also of note, if your opponent had cast Shock after they declared blockers but before the combat damage step, your Troll would be removed from combat and no damage would be dealt, leaving their Rats unscathed. This all brings us to the question: is regeneration common, or broken? Regeneration is one of the first abilities ever used in Limited Edition First Edition , the first MTG card set ever released back in So, it has every right to be one of the strongest abilities. Although the very first cards that used the mechanic— Death Ward , its counterpart Disintegrate , and of course Regeneration —were fairly simple, the ability came to be considered one of the most convoluted mechanics in the game at the time.

Connect and share knowledge within a single location that is structured and easy to search. I know that if my creature is destroyed then I can spend X mana then tap my creature and move it out of combat. Is it attackable in any way after that? With spells or instants? Or does Shock immediately resolve to destroy the creature assuming it has no regeneration shield on it?

A creature is destroyed when a resolved spell or effect says so destruction by effect , or when the total damage it received this turn from anywhere is equal to or greater than its current toughness destruction by game rules. At any time you can regenerate a creature with an appropriate spell or effect. The only condition is that the regeneration has to happen before the destruction effect.

You can regenerate a creature as often as you like, anytime. For each time you regenerate it, the creature gets a "regeneration shield" that lasts until the turn ends or until it is used up by a destruction effect, whatever happens first. If a destruction event would happen and the creature has a "regeneration shield" active, the following things happen:. Note that certain spells or effects state something like "Destroy target creature. It can't be regenerated. In that case, you can still respond with a regeneration shield, but the regeneration effect is ignored and the creature still gets destroyed.

The only valid targets for an attack are opposing players and Planeswalkers. The correct term to use for spells and effects is "target", if it is a targeted spell or effect. You can, as stated above, provide multiple regeneration shields, so as long as you can pay the costs, you can regenerate as often as you want.

What I really wanted to know is that if someone uses for example Shock on my creature can I say at that moment "Ok, I will spend 2 mana and regenerate my creature" or when that Shock is played it is resolved immediately any my creature is destroyed assuming that it has 1 toughness and no regeneration shield on it.

Your opponent pays 1 red mana and casts Shock. Shock is now placed "on the stack". Assuming that neither you nor your opponent want to play any spells or abilities in response, Shock "resolves", your creature takes 2 damage, and, assuming its toughness is 2 or less, goes to the graveyard.

However, you do want to do something, which is regenerate your creature! With Shock on the stack, you say "in response, I regenerate" and pay your mana. This puts the ability on the stack, on top of Shock. Now, assuming neither you nor your opponent want to play any more spells or abilities, the objects on the stack start to resolve from top to bottom LIFO , thus the ability resolves first and a regeneration shield is created.

Now Shock is at the top of the stack; assuming neither you nor your opponent want to play any more spells or abilities, it resolves, and your creature is dealt 2 damage, though this time it survives thanks to the replacement effect provided by its regeneration shield.

Here's an interesting case for you: your opponent casts Shock on your creature. In response, you tap two lands, and use your creature's regeneration ability. In response to this , your opponent taps for another red mana and casts another Shock from his hand!



0コメント

  • 1000 / 1000